Barcelona

Further Information Page

Interested in the early history of Barcelona? Check out these sources for more information!

“Barcelona History”. GSM Barcelona. Accessed November 18, 2022. https://www.gsmbarcelona.eu/default/gsmb-campus/barcelona-history

Chandler, Cullen J. “Carolingian Catalonia: the Spanish March, 778-988”. The Heroic Age, No. 17, Lycoming College, 2017, Accessed November 17, 2022. https://www.heroicage.org/issues/17/chandler.php.

Debnam, Matthew. “Barcino to Barcelona: 2000 years of history”. OkAppartment Barcelona, June 14, 2016, Accessed November 17, 2022. https://www.barcelonacheckin.com/en/r/barcelona_tourism_guide/photo-articles/barcino-barcelona.php 

“History”. Barcelona Turisme. Accessed November 18, 2022. https://www.barcelonaturisme.com/wv3/en/page/43/history-of-barcelona.html

Check out the sources below to look more into the 20th and 21st centuries of Barcelona!

Julier, Guy. “Barcelona Design, Catalonia’s Political Economy, and the New Spain, 1980-1986.” Journal of Design History, vol. 9, no. 2, 1996, pp. 117–27. JSTOR, http://www.jstor.org/stable/1316105. Accessed 20 Nov. 2022.

Seidman, Michael. “Work and Revolution: Workers’ Control in Barcelona in the Spanish Civil War, 1936-38.” Journal of Contemporary History, vol. 17, no. 3, 1982, pp. 409–33. JSTOR, http://www.jstor.org/stable/260554. Accessed 16 Nov. 2022.

Wikimedia Foundation. (2022, October 30). Bombing of Barcelona. Wikipedia. Retrieved November 18, 2022, from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bombing_of_Barcelona#:~:text=The%20Bombing%20of%20Barcelona%20was,at%20least%202%2C000%20were%20wounded

Wikimedia Foundation. (2022, October 28). July 1936 military uprising in Barcelona. Wikipedia. Retrieved November 18, 2022, from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/July_1936_military_uprising_in_Barcelona

Intrigued by the tasty-looking food? Find more below!

Annetravelfoodie. “Food Festivals in Barcelona.” Anne Travel Foodie, 17 Oct. 2022, www.annetravelfoodie.com/food-festivals-barcelona/

Rana, Pauline. “Top 10 Traditional Food in Barcelona, Spain.” Trip101, Trip101, 30 Sept. 2020, trip101.com/article/traditional-food-in-barcelona#:~:text=Top%2010%20Traditional%20Food%20In%20Barcelona%2C%20Spain%201,Botifarra%20amb%20mongetes%20%28sausage%20and%20beans%29%20More%20items

Woerfel, Emily. “The Complete Guide to Street Food in Barcelona: What to Eat & Where To Eat It.” Devour Tours, 25 Feb. 2022, devourtours.com/blog/street-food-barcelona/?cnt=US#:~:text=5%20Street%20Food%20Bites%20in%20Barcelona%20and%20Where,an%20ice-cold%20ca%C3%B1a.%20…%205%205.%20Tortilla%20

Ready to take a trip with your peers to Barcelona? Look into these sources!

Middleton, Jamie. “La Sagrada Familia: Church, Barcelona, Spain.” Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/topic/La-Sagrada-Familia.

“10 Interesting Facts about Casa Batllo.” Casa Batllo. https://www.casabatllo.es/en/news/10-interesting-facts-casa-batllo/.

Gibernau, Natalia. “Roman Ruins in Barcelona: 8 Roman Spots You Can’t Miss.” 2019. https://www.bizflats.com/blog/roman-ruins-in-barcelona.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sagrada_Fam%C3%ADlia