Canvas recently unveiled a new app that will allow instructors to do work on the go. This app allows you to do the three basic tasks that we all do rather frequently – grading, communicating, and updating things such as assignments, announcements, and grades. The Canvas Teacher app is available for iOS and Android devices.
Checking for Updates
To ensure that you are using the most current version of the app, users can find the latest version by clicking on the Profile tab at the bottom of the screen. You will see the latest version shown as indicated by the blue rectangle.
Getting Canvas Support in the App
To send messages, navigate to your inbox by choosing the option highlighted in red. Once the inbox is open, you will see a list of messages, if you have any, and a “+” icon in the top right corner as shown in blue below. Choose this to begin composing a message. Once you fill out the necessary information for the Canvas message, choose “send” in the top right corner.
Editing Your Course Dashboard
An instructor can change the visibility of the course tiles on the courses page by going to the top right corner of the home screen and clicking on the edit button as shown in red. Once the edit screen appears, you will be able to show or hide the courses you want. Courses are shown when the star is black and hidden when the star is clear.
Editing a Course
Users can edit their course name and set their course’s home page directly from the Canvas Teacher app. Navigate to the course you want to change and click on the cog wheel beside the course’s name on the top left corner of the screen. This opens up a window where users can make those edits. Be sure to choose “done” when you are satisfied with your changes.
Users are able to take attendance using the Canvas Teacher app. Students can be marked as present, late, or absent. The attendance feature and the weights of the attendance grade are set up within the web version of Canvas. To record attendance in the app, navigate to the course on the app and click on the “attendance” option that will appear if it has been enabled previously.
Clearing App Data
At times, clearing the app data can help increase the functionality of any app. Users are able to clear the Teacher App data by logging out of the app as shown earlier in this post, deleting the app (refer to your mobile devices instructions on deleting apps), and then reinstalling the app on their chosen device. App data will clear and users can log back in. Users must logout of the app before deleting it. Failing to logout of the app will not clear the data and users will be automatically logged into their previous app data settings. Once the user gets to the login screen, a question mark will appear in the top left corner of the screen and can be used = to report a problem, request a feature, and locate your school before entering login credentials.
*This post was drafted by Dr. Julie Mersiowsky, Director of the Digital Education Collaborative